Minnesota Atheists Committees

Published by Minnesota Atheists on

By Andy Flamm

It’s Springtime, and that means we have a new Board of Directors, along with a renewed energy focused on taking the great organization we have and making it even better. . To that end, the Board has updated the list of standing committees which exist to plan and carry out the various Minnesota Atheists activities. Here is a quick rundown of the list, including the mission of each committee and the current Chair (some groups have not met since the new Board was elected; an Acting Chair is listed).

Atheist Community
Membership Committee
Works to maintain current membership, solicit new members, welcome new members, and foster a positive atheist community. Secondary role is to solicit donations. Chair: Andy Flamm, andrew.flamm@gmail.com

Program Committee
Plans and executes activities for members (most of which are also open to the general public), such as monthly meetings, Meetups, social hours, picnics, 5th Sunday dinners, Day of Reason, booths and marches at festivals, Winter Solstice party, regional conferences, and debates. (Acting) Chair: August Berkshire, augustberkshire@gmail.com

Building Committee
Researches possible buildings to buy, plans for the successful transition to ownership and supervises use of the building once obtained. (Acting) Chair: August Berkshire, augustberkshire@gmail.com

Bylaws Committee
Makes grammar and spelling corrections to the bylaws and recommends changes for MNA members to vote on. (Acting) Chair: August Berkshire, augustberkshire@gmail.com

Chapter Exploratory Committee
Helps establish the guidelines for other freethought groups in Minnesota to become legal chapters of Minnesota Atheists. Chair: August Berkshire, augustberkshire@gmail.com

Public Policy Committee
Clarifies our political position on issues that pertain to separation of state and church, including vouchers, stem cell research, gay rights, sex education, contraception, abortion, and voluntary euthanasia. Chair: George Kane, nup@minn.net

Speakers Bureau & Education Committee
Provides free MNA speakers for the media, schools, and events hosted by other groups. Develops a curriculum and trains speakers. Creates handouts. Chair: Laura Hutt, lhutt@comcast.net

Public Relations Committee
Creates press releases, opinion pieces, and letters to the editor that it sends to the media. Chair: George Kane, nup@minn.net

Charitable Works Committee
Plans activities that allow atheists to do good works and improve our image. Chair: Jack Caravela, jackc@usfamily.net

Web/Technology Committee
Designs and manages website.  Manages mailing list, Mail Chimp, and Atheists Weekly E-mail (AWE). Chair: Cody Peterson, cody.c.peterson@gmail.com

Podcast Committee
Creates and broadcasts podcasts. (Acting) Chair: Mike Haubrich, tuibguy@gmail.com

Cable TV Committee (& Crew)
Produces and distributes cable programs. Chair: Steve Petersen, spetersen175@gmail.com

Editorial Board & Newsletter Committee
Produces newsletter. Chair: James Zimmerman (editor), zgoatee@gmail.com

Please consider volunteering to serve on one or more committee. The time commitment does not have to be huge, but we need as many members as possible to help us in our important work. Plus, many volunteers find that working with other members is their favorite part of belonging to Minnesota Atheists.  

To volunteer, just contact the appropriate committee chair(s) or a member of the Board. Your ideas and efforts will be great appreciated by our community.

Categories: Articles

Minnesota Atheists

Positive Atheism in Action Since 1991