July Cable Show Report

Published by Minnesota Atheists on

By Steve Petersen

Photo of guest and host on cable set.

In July, we recorded a two-part program on deism. James Zimmerman headed up a discussion with Ryan Sutter exploring the origins of deism and its basic ideology. Sutter explained the impact scientists and philosophers, such as Isaac Newton and John Locke, had upon the religiosity of the early eighteenth century. He explained why deism was adopted so readily in America, and how the Puritanical bend of colonial religious leaders even lent itself to opening the way for deism.

During the second part of the program, Sutter and Zimmerman continued their discussion by focusing on Kerry Walters’ new book Revolutionary Deists. They provided brief overviews of some of the deists sketched in the book including Benjamin Franklin and Thomas Paine) and offered their criticisms of the book’s concluding arguments.

If you would like to sponsor our program in your community, or have an idea for a program please contact Steve Petersen at achair@mnatheists.org or 651-484-9277.   

Cable Crew:  George Kane, Brett Stembridge, Shirley Moll, Steve Petersen, Wendy Steinberg, Grant Hermanson and Art Anderson.

Podcasts: MinnesotaAtheists.org. Available via Itunes.  Made possible by Grant Hermanson.

Cable Schedule:
Burnsville/Eagan Community Tele-vision: Channel 14. Times vary; check their web site, <www.bect.tv>, for day and times. Sponsor: Kevin Hardisty.

Bloomington:  Channel 16. Monday 9:30 p.m. and Tuesday 5:30 a.m. and 1:30 p.m. Sponsors: David and Joanne Beardsley.

Minneapolis: Channel 17. Saturday 8:30 p.m. Sponsor: Steve Petersen.

Rochester:  Channel 10. Tuesday, Wednesday & Thursday 7:30 p.m. Sponsor: Jim Salutz.

Roseville, Shoreview, Arden Hills, North Oaks, Little Canada, Falcon Heights, Lauderdale, Moundsview/ New Brighton: Channel 14. Wednesday 10:30 p.m. Sponsor: Shirley Moll.

St. Cloud: Channel 12. Thursday 8:30 to 9:00 p.m. Sponsor Jack Richter.

Stillwater: Channel 16. Tuesday 7:00 p.m. Wednes-day 9:00 a.m. Sponsor: Lee Salisbury.

South Washington County:  Channel 14. Tuesday 7:00 p.m. Sponsor: Jim Bodsberg.

White Bear Lake, Hugo, Lake Elmo, Mahtomedi, Maplewood, North St. Paul, Oakdale, Vadnais Heights: Channel 15. Saturday 7:30 p.m. Sponsor: Michael Seliga.

Categories: Articles

Minnesota Atheists

Positive Atheism in Action Since 1991